Affinity Photo or Pixelmator Pro?

Talk about Pixelmator Pro, share tips & tricks, tutorials, and other resources.

2022-01-18 09:45:22

Hey bisky42. It depends on what you'll be using the app for. The basic editing functionalities in both apps should be more or less the same. You can use them both to edit photos, work with shapes, paint, illustrate. But there may be some specific tools or features that one editor has and the other doesn't. It would probably be best to simply give them both a trial run (if you haven't done so already) and see how you like them for yourself. The Pixelmator Pro trial is available to download right here. And you can also check out the list of Pixelmator Pro tech specs for all available features.

2022-01-19 14:26:27

by bisky42 Are both of these picture editors up to the task? Are their capacities different, or should I acquire one over the other, or both? I'm not a pro, and this is simply for fun.
If you are coming from Photoshop you will find Affinity Photo more similar. Also, there are tons more tutorials and resources for Affinity Photo than Pixelmator Pro right now.

That said, I tend to use Pixelmator Pro more becuase of its Mac like interface, excellent AI tools and generally find it more fun.

I hope Pixelmator Pro finds a larger user base so more folks will produce tutorials and other materials for it. It is a great app.

Another thought, if you do vector graphics and/or desktop publishing the entire Affinity suite is a great solution: Photo / Desighner and Publisher

2022-01-23 11:25:12